Landmark Services Cooperative Hosts 86th Annual Meeting

COTTAGE GROVE, WI, January 29, 2019 – Landmark Services Cooperative held the 86th annual meeting on January 23, 2019, at the headquarters in Cottage Grove, Wis.

The meeting was called to order by Board Chairman John Blaska. Blaska then welcomed guests and introduced the board of directors prior to giving his chairman’s report.

Secretary Kevin Klahn reported on the minutes from last year’s annual meeting and informed the group that these were available as members arrived and had been approved at the January 2018 board of directors meeting.

Chairman Blaska gave the chairman’s report including memoriam for past board member Jon Laper, the hiring of the new CEO, board of directors training, the new safety initiatives and a recap on the donations made through the Landmark Gives Back program including scholarship recipients, summer lunch programs, donations to local fire departments and the Second Harvest Foodbank contributions. Blaska announced that this will be his last year serving on the board and that he will be stepping down as the board chairman. Blaska’s report also included an overview of Landmark’s equity, section 199A deduction, capital expenditures and the Fall River impairment.

Jeff Brandenburg, independent auditor, stated that CliftonLarsonAllen found Landmark’s financial statements to be accurate and issued an unqualified opinion on the financial statements.

Chief Financial Officer Keith Arnold presented the financial report comprising of an overview of the 2018 statement of operations performance, balance sheet, financial analysis for fiscal year 2015-2018 of working capital, local net worth and cash returned to patrons. President and CEO Jim Dell provided the management report and introduced the leadership team.

Mike Hinz, nominating committee chair, reported that this year’s nominating committee worked very hard to recruit qualified board candidates for the expired terms of three Landmark directors. The candidates for the northern district were Dennis Ballweg of Sun Prairie and Keven Schultz of Fox Lake. The candidates for the western district were John Doerfer of Verona and Sandy Larson of Evansville. The unopposed candidate for the eastern district was Max Wenck of East Troy. Hinz shared the election results to be Keven Schultz, Sandy Larson and Max Wenck. Each will serve a three-year term. Hinz then announced the 2019 nominating committee: Randy Link, Mike Hinz, Jim Bolton, Rick Austin, Jim Fahey and an eastern district position to be determined.

After the meeting the board reconvened in a special session to elect board positions. The 2019 board is as follows: Jim Lange, board chairman; Jon Prochnow, vice chairman; Kevin Klahn, secretary/treasurer; John Blaska, director; Sandy Larson, director; Keven Schultz, director; Max Wenck, director.

Landmark Services Cooperative is a member-owned cooperative dedicated to providing customers with the highest quality products and services. For 85+ years, Landmark has provided farm-related products and services to its more than 11,000 members in southern Wisconsin and northern Illinois. Employing more than 300 full-time people and reaching sales in excess of $373 million, Landmark provides a customer service-oriented approach in the communities it serves. For more information, visit, or call 800-236-3276.